Erin Clyburn

Associate Agent

Erin joined The Jennifer De Chiara Literary Agency as Associate Agent in 2019 after an internship and apprenticeship with Corvisiero Literary Agency. She has worked as a copy editor and recipe editor in the magazine industry and was general manager and director of collection development for Turtleback Books. She received her BA in English Literature from Mississippi State University and her MA in Children’s Literature from Hollins University. When not working, Erin loves hiking, cooking, traveling, painting, working on a manuscript or two, and trying to keep her three rabbits, Felix, Agnes, and Valentino, from chewing up every baseboard in the house.

 

What I'm looking for

 

Children’s:

  • Picture books: Nonfiction picture books ONLY, particularly multicultural picture books and picture books about lesser-known individuals or historical events

  • Chapter books: High-concept chapter book series

  • Middle grade: Stories with big hearts and unforgettable voices, and especially mysteries (Did you write a novel like The Westing Game, Holes, or Greenglass House? Send it to her!)

  • YA: Dark contemporary, horror, thriller, mystery

  • All children’s: Graphic novels, high-interest nonfiction, magical realism, characters going on journeys

Adult:

  • Fiction: Character-driven literary fiction; plot-driven suspense, mysteries, and thrillers in the vein of Gillian Flynn or Tana French; laugh-out-loud novels about quirky, dysfunctional families; all horror from psychological to gothic to slasher; multigenerational family sagas like We Are Not Ourselves by Matthew Thomas

  • Nonfiction: Pop science (Oliver Sacks, Mary Roach); high-interest nonfiction, particularly stories about fascinating people and issues that haven’t been told before (Radium Girls, The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks); true crime; cookbooks; science- or culture-focused memoirs (My Brain on Fire, Educated, Full Body Burden)

Across the board:

  • Emotional, character-driven sci-fi (Ishiguro’s Never Let Me Go, Anderson’s Feed)

  • An Alabamian, Erin would love to see diverse Southern voices writing stories set in the South.

  • #ownvoices

  • Characters dealing with mental illness, neurodiverse representation

​Erin is not the right person for fiction picture books, romance, Westerns, epic fantasy, political or military thrillers, hard sci-fi, short stories, or stories with a strong focus on religion.

 
How to submit

 

Queries should be submitted through QueryManager: http://QueryMe.Online/ErinClyburn. Emailed queries will be deleted unread. For fiction, please include your query letter, synopsis, and first 10 pages of your manuscript. For nonfiction, please send your query, proposal, and the first 10 pages. For picture books, please send the whole text.

245 Park Avenue, 39th Floor, New York, NY 10167 | 212.372.8989